Hyderabad, Apr 12 UNI | 3 months ago

Even as political managers of all parties were trying their best to pacify rebels to withdraw from fray, rebel threat still remained at a few places of Lok Sabha and Assembly constituencies in the first phase of poll battle across ten districts of Telangana in Andhra Pradesh.

A total of 267 candidates were in the fray after withdrawal of nominations by 39 candidates from the poll battle on the last date for withdrawal of candidature yesterday in the first phase of general elections to be held on April 30 in 17 parliamentary constituencies in Telangana while a total of 1,682 candidates were in the fray after withdrawal of 554 candidates for the 119 assembly constituencies.

"Many candidates feel cheated by either the poll alliances or the decisions of leaders," said one of the rebel from Telugu Desam Party (TDP).

The rebel threat had hit even the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) Chief K Chandrasekhar Rao in his Medak Parliament seat and also Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee (TPCC) President Ponnala Lakshmaiah.

Congress official nominees were facing rebel threat at nearly seven assembly constituencies. TPCC, however, has managed in persuading P Seshidhar Reddy who had filed his nomination as a Congress rebel in Medak Assembly against actor-turned politician Ms Vijayashanti. The much-publicized alliance between the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and the BJP too appears to be facing a rough weather as rebels in both parties continue in stay in fray in several constituencies.

As far as the TRS is concerned, TRS Chief K Chandrashekar

Rao is facing rebel trouble from Medak Lok Sabha and Gajwel Assembly constituencies and he will have to fight party rebels in both seats as the withdrawal of candidates ended yesterday.

TRS rebel Beeraiah Yadav, who was denied the party ticket, has not opted out of the race against party Chief KCR. Yadav, who had filed his nomination papers after welcoming KCR at the helipad in Medak, the other day, decided to remain in the fray.

Even in Gajwel Assembly constituency, from where the TRS chief is contesting, the party is facing rebels trouble in form of Ketireddy Linga Reddy and Venkatesh Goud, KCR fans Association President. Mr Goud is contesting on the ticket of Bahujan Samaj party (BSP).

Other prominent TRS rebels are Balaji Singh at Kalwakurthy in Mahabubnagar and Pendur Gopi at Asifabad (ST) in Adilabad. Mr Singh, who had filed his nomination, was constituency in-charge, until the local MLA of TDP G Jaipal Yadav joined TRS and secured the ticket.

Though the Union Rural Development Minister Jairam Ramesh camped in Hyderabad to persuade party rebels to pull out and even threatened 'stern action', several refused to withdraw their nominations on the last day of withdrawal yesterday.

TPCC President Ponnala Lakshmaiah is no exception to rebel trouble is he was facing in Jangaon Assembly constituency where former AP Disabled Welfare Finance Corporation Chairman Bukka Judson was in the fray.

Warangal DCC Chief Donthi Madhava Reddy was in the fray as an independent against the party's official candidate Kathi

Venkataswamy in Narasampet assembly constituency while former MLA Malreddy Rangareddy, who managed to get the party's B form for Maheswaram assembly constituency despite the fact that it was allotted to its poll-ally CPI, didn't withdraw his nomination.

Similarly, at Munugodu in Nalgonda district, Congress Rajya Sabha member Palvai Govardhan Reddy's daughter Sravanthi stayed in the poll fray as a party rebel against the CPI's official candidate.

In Jukkal constituency, former MLA Aruna Tara remained in the fray as a congress rebel while Akula Srinivas (Yellareddy) ignored the party's plea and J Narsing Rao, son of former Minister Juvvadi Ratnakar Rao, who refused to withdraw, in fray in Korutla assembly constituency.

However, CPI (poll ally with Congress) leadership was relieved as rebels from Congress opted out in fray at Pinapaka, Bhongir, Thungathurthy, Miryalaguda and Devrakonda assembly constituencies.

(Posted on 13-04-2014)