IPL: 8 franchises retain 24 players

Mumbai, Jan 10 : The window for the franchises to retain players for the Pepsi Indian Premier League (IPL) season seven closed at 5:00 pm on Friday as Delhi Daredevils did not retain any of their players.

Champions Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) have retained five players.

"Twenty four players have been retained, including fourteen Indian players (of which three are uncapped) and ten overseas players," the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said in a statement on Friday.

CSK has retained MS Dhoni, R Ashwin, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja and Suresh Raina.

RR on the other hand retained uncapped Indian player Stuart Binny, James Faulkner, Ajinkya Rahane, Sanju Samson and Australia Shane Watson.

The current champion team Mumbai Indians retained Lasith Malinga, Kieron Pollard, Ambati Rayudu, Rohit Sharma and Harbhajan Singh.

Kolkata Knight Riders on the other hand retained skipper Gautam Gambhir, under whose leadership the team had earlier won the tournament and West Indies spinner Sunil Narine.

Kings XI Punjab retained David Miller and Manan Vohra.

Industrialist Vijay Mallya's Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) has retained Virat Kohli, Chris Gayle and AB De Villiers while Sunrisers Hyderabad retained Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan and South African pacer Dale Steyn.

Ranjib Biswal, Chairman IPL, said: "The regulations were drafted taking into account franchise, player and fan feedback. Continuity of the core players in the teams is very important and the retention of these twenty four players, coupled with the "rights to match" (RTM) to be used in the auction, is a good sign. I am very pleased to see three uncapped Indian players in the list of players retained. The IPL is a great platform for young talent."

The IPL player auction will take place on Feb 12 and Feb 13.

--IBNS (Posted on 10-01-2014)

cricket-news headlines

IPL: All-round Kings XI Punjab register easy victory

Maxwell stars again in Kings XI big win

Sunrisers elect to field against Kings XI

IPL: Mukul Mudgal Committee to agrees to continue probe

Amritsar and Patiala record outright victories

Virat Kohli has made a place for himself: Javagal Srinath

Apex court asks Mudgal if he would probe IPL scandal

IPL scam: BCCI proposes panel to SC; petitioner objects

IPL: CSK thrash Delhi by 93 runs

Chennai Super Kings get a big win over Daredevils

Tata Motors partners IPL team RCB

Chennai Super Kings to bat against Delhi Daredevils

Quick Links: Goa | Munnar | Pondicherry | Free Yearly Horoscope '2014


Your e-mail:

Your Full Name:

Type verification image:
verification image, type it in the box


Back to Top