Seoul, May 19 IANS | 5 months ago

South Korean President Park Geun-hye once again apologised Monday for the sinking of a ferry which has left 286 people dead and 18 missing.

She also vowed to ensure a reform in officialdom and safety response system.

"As president (is) responsible for the people's lives and safety, I sincerely apologise for the pains the people have suffered," Park said in her first televised statement to the nation. "The ultimate responsibility for failing to properly respond to this accident lies with me."

Park has apologise four times since the 6, 825-ton passenger ferry Sewol capsized and sank off the southwestern island of Jindo April 16, but this was for the first time she sought an apology in the form of a national statement.

On the 34th day into search, 286 people have been confirmed dead. No survivors have been reported since 172 people were saved from the ship and sea on the day the ferry sank.

Park said the coast guard's rescue operations actually failed in the ferry sinking accident, noting that after much contemplation, she reached a conclusion that the coast guard will be disbanded.

The Ministry of Security and Public Administration will focus solely on the task of public administrations, and the task of maritime guard and rescue will be transferred to the tentatively named "National Safety Office" that will be launched and serve as a control tower of rescue operations.

The task of marine transport control center from the Ministry of Oceans and Fisheries will also be moved to the National Safety Office, Park said.

(Posted on 19-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |