Monday, February 15 2016

Home > News > India News

Modi accuses EC, panel maintains stand on 'free and fair' polls

Posted on May 04 2014 | IANS

Kolkata, May 4 : Countering BJP prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi's remark that the April 30 polls in West Bengal saw "rampant rigging", the Election Commission Sunday stuck to its stand that the exercise was "fair, free and peaceful".

Nine constituencies in four districts of the state went to the polls April 30.

State chief electoral officer Sunil Gupta said voting was "fair, free and peaceful" with there being no reports of any violence, booth capturing, obstruction to voters or any other unlawful activity disrupting the poll process was received.

"We have nothing to add... the CEO has already specified the details of the process," assistant chief electoral officer Amitjyoti Bhattacharya told reporters here.

Modi in his Sunday rally in Bengal's Bankura district had accused the panel of failing to curb rigging April 30.

Trinamool Congress legislator Srikanto Mahato, who had been issued notice by the poll panel for describing former West Bengal chief minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharje and CPI-M leader Mohammad Salim as "murderers", has appealed for an exoneration.

"The district magistrate is examining his reply," Bhattacharya said.

Bhattacharya confirmed the Election Commission in Delhi has sought detailed scrutiny reports for the poll process in Howrah, Hooghly, Birbhum and Burdwan districts that witnessed polling in the third phase.

Latest News: