Melbourne, Feb 27 IANS | 8 months ago

Hockey Australia (HA) Thursday announced an 18-man squad for the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup to be held in Ipoh, Malaysia, from March 13-23.

Three-time Olympian and 2004 Athens Games gold medallist Liam De Young is set to become only the fourth Australian to make 300 appearances for the Kookaburras after being named in the squad. He will join Jay Stacy (321 caps), Brent Livermore (317) and fellow Queenslander Jamie Dwyer (308) as a member of the '300 club'.

Tasmanian Eddie Ockenden - a two-time Olympic bronze medallist and World Cup winner - will make his 200th appearance while Victorian Glenn Simpson will reach a century of matches for Australia.

Five-time World Player of the Year Dwyer returns to the line-up, having been rested for the World League Finals while goalkeeper Andrew Charter, Simpson, Matt Gohdes, Rob Hammond, Mitton and Andrew Philpott were recalled to the team. Penalty corner specialist Chris Ciriello also returns having been withdrawn from the World League squad after suffering from a torn calf.

"The Sultan Azlan Shah Cup is our last tournament before the World Cup and the squad has been picked with that in mind. We've selected based on a range of objectives, including load management. We've got athletes that have played in the Oceania Cup, World League Finals and Hockey India League and we need to look after them with both the World Cup and Commonwealth Games coming up," head coach Ric Charlesworth said.

Gunning for a record eighth title as they defend their 2013 crown, the Kookaburras will face Canada, China, Korea, South Africa and hosts Malaysia in the 23rd edition of the competition.

Charlesworth added that despite the recent withdrawal of Pakistan, the now six team tournament has the quality to test Australia.

"It's unfortunate that a couple of teams (Pakistan and France) had to pull out but the likes of Korea, Malaysia and South Africa in particular are quality teams that will be at the World Cup."

The squad: Daniel Beale, Nick Budgeon, Andrew Charter (goalkeeper), Chris Ciriello, Liam De Young, Jamie Dwyer, Russell Ford, Matt Gohdes, Rob Hammond, Jeremy Hayward, Mark Knowles, Tyler Lovell (goalkeeper), Trent Mitton, Eddie Ockenden, Andrew Philpott, Glenn Simpson, Jake Whetton, Tristan White.

(Posted on 27-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |