Friday, February 12 2016

Home > News > India News

7 RJD MLAs quit, 6 still with Lalu

Posted on Feb 24 2014 | IBNS

Patna, Feb 24 : Even as reports of 13 MLAs of Lalu Prasad Yadav's Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) quitting party was doing rounds, six of them denied the same on Monday.

The six MLAs have alleged that their signatures on the letter sent to Bihar Speaker Uday Narain Choudhary had been forged, media reports said.

Giving a blow to former Bihar chief minister and RJD supremo Lalu Prasad Yadav, 7 MLAs of his party have quit just ahead of the Lok Sabha elections.

The seven MLAs who have sent their resignation from the RJD are Samrat Chaudhary, Javed Ansari, Ram Lakhan Ram, Jitendra Rai, Raghuvendra Pratap Singh, Anirudh Kumar and Akhtarul Imam.

The six other MLAs, who say they are still with the RJD, are Akhtarul Islam Shahi, Dr Faiyaz Ahmed, Abdul Gafoor, Chandrashekhar, Durga Prasad Rai and Lalit Yadav.

The rebelling MLAs met Bihar Speaker Uday Narain Choudhary on Monday and announced their decision to leave the party.

According to one of the rebel MLAs, the group asked the Speaker to declare them unattached to the party. They also announced their willingness to join Nitish Kumar's Janata Dal-United (JD-U).

RJD MLA Samrat Chaudhary said they had written to the Vidhan Sabha Secretary on Feb 14 that 13 MLAs be provided separate seating arrangement or be allowed to merge with JD-U.

"Today we have got permission to sit separately as RJD has become a B team of Congress," said Chaudhary.

The Speaker allotted them separate sitting space after which they announced that they would support the Nitish Kumar government, reports said.

Justifying their stand, rebel MLA Javed Ansari told media that:"Our neta is playing in the lap of a politician who sent him to jail." This comment was referred to the ordinance to protect convicted lawmakers that was scrapped following Congress Vice-President Rahul Gandhi's intervention last year.

Reacting to the news, party supremo Lalu Prasad told media that: "I have heard some news, I am not sure if it has happened."

This comes a day after Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) president Ram Vilas Paswan moved closer to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaving behind RJD and Congress, with whom it earlier aimed to ally.

Latest News: