Home » News » Cricket News

26 Pakistan players register for IPL auction

7 years ago | IBNS | 03-01-2010

Karachi/Mumbai, Jan 3 At least 26 Pakistani players are among the 97 who registered for the third Indian Premier League (IPL) auction to be held on Jan 19.

Pakistan's Geo News quoting sources said fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar is not among the 26 Pakistani players who also include former test off-spinner Saqlain Mushtaq and Muhammad Asif.

The list also includes four players from Associate countries - Rizwan Cheema and Khurram Chohan (Canada), Ryan ten Doeschate (Netherlands), Niall O'Brien (Ireland) - as well as former Zimbabwe nationals Murray Goodwin and Ray Price.

The IPL player auction scheduled for January 19 has drawn massive interest. In all, 97 players from all nine Test-playing nations and associate countries have registered by the final date of Jan 1.

However, registering does not guarantee the player will be included in the auction list. In 2009, over 100 players registered for the auction out of which 50 went under the hammer to fill 17 available overseas slots.

IPL officials said the players should be aware that the number of overseas players that a Franchise may have in its squad is capped at 10.

Although the final number of available places in the Franchises' squads for 2010 will not be known until nearer the Auction, IPL expects that the number will be substantially lower than 17 that were available in 2009, the officials said.

Prominent among the players who were part of the unofficial ICL are Shane Bond, who recently retired from Test cricket, Damien Martyn, Chris Cairns, Saqlain Mushtaq and Justin Kemp.

The Pakistanis - the current world Twenty20 champions - include Mohammed Aamer and Umar Akmal, and the list also includes the exciting West Indian Kieron Pollard.

The registered Pakistani players are: Mohammed Aamer, Shahid Afridi, Shahzad Ahmed, Saeed Ajmal, Umar Akmal, Fawad Alam, Yasir Arafat, Mohammad Asif, Salman Butt, Imran Farhat, Mohammad Hafeez, Yasir Hameed, Faisal Iqbal, Asim Kamal, Danish Kaneria, Mohammad Khalil, Abdur Rauf, Khalid Latif, Azhar Mahmood, Shoaib Malik, Khurram Manzoor, Saqlain Mushtaq, Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, Imran Nazir, Abdul Razzaq, Mohammad Sami.

The players who registered from Sri Lanka are: Malinga Bandara, Indika de Saram, Chinthaka Jayasinghe, Thilina Kandamby, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekera, Suranga Lakmal, Jehan Mubarak, Thisara Perera, Dammika Prasad, Muthumudalige Pushpakumara, Suraj Randiv, Rangana Herath, Gihan Rupasinghe, Upul Tharanga, Kaushalya Weeraratne, ChanakaWelegedara.