Lucknow, May 14 UNI | 3 months ago

After a hectic over a month long six phases polling for 80 Lok Sabha constituencies in Uttar Pradesh, highest in the country, Election Commission has geared itself to hold the process of counting of votes on May 16 from 0800 hrs.

Fate of 1288 candidates including 125 women would be decided in the counting of 1,91,421 Electronic Voting Machines(EVMs) in the state.

The entire counting process will be done under the strict monitoring of the Central observers and security of the Central forces. There would be three tier security system at the counting centers and none would be allowed inside without valid passes.

The first result from UP is expected to come from Baghpat and Kanpur seats followed by Kairana, Muzaffarnagar and Nagina where the polling booths are lesser than the other constituencies.

Rashtriya Lok Dal President and Union Civil Aviation Minister Ajit Singh and Union Coal minister Sriprakash Jaiswal results would be declared first as they are contesting from Baghpat and Kanpur respectively.

However, results of the constituencies like Ghaziabad, Shahjahanpur, Unnao, Jalaun and Sant Kabirnagar seats could be declared at the end as there are highest number of booths.

The result of the VVIP Varanasi seat where BJP's PM candidate Narendra Modi is contesting could be delayed as there are 3 balloting units of the EVMs due to 42 candidates in the fray.

EC sources here today said there would be 76 counting centers in 75 districts and the trends would start pouring in immediately. The counting personnel will first take up the postal ballots and then the EVMs. The first result is expected by 1200 noon while all the results of all 80 seats would be announced by late afternoon after taking prior approval from the EC.

(Posted on 15-05-2014)