Bangalore, Apr 15 UNI | 4 months ago

The no-holds-barred high profile campaigning for the single phase Lok Sabha elections in Karnataka to be held on April 17, ended this evening with the main contenders BJP and Congress leaving no stone unturned to emerge victorious.

Though the Janata Dal (secular) of Former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda and the Aam Admi Party have put up candidates, the main battle is between the Congress and the BJP which is in the fray in all the 28 seats in the state. Coming close to the resounding success in the May State Assembly Elections, the Congress leaders, especially Chief Minister Siddaramaiah is going all out to impress the high command to ensure they get maximum number of seats.

The electoral fortunes of six Former Chief Ministers will be tested at the hustings. They are Veerappa Moily, Dharam Singh (both Congress), B S Yeddyurappa, D V Sadananda Gowda (both BJP), H D Devegowda and

H D Kumaraswamy (both Janata Dal (S)).

Incidentally, Mr Devegowda was also the Prime Minister of the country for 10 months.

Apart from Mr Moily, the other two Union Ministers are Railway Minister Veerappa Moily and MSME minister K H Muniyappa.

While BJP General Secretary H N Ananth Kumar is seeking a record sixth term from high-profile Bangalore South, Mr Muniyappa will be seeking a seventh term for himself from Kolar.

Considered as a crucial state to win power at the Centre by both Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party, Karnataka is witnessing a stirring bipolar war between the two national parties.

After its debacle in the Assembly polls last year, BJP has regrouped well with the re-entry of Former Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa into the party.

It seemed to have gained ground over Congress party, which ousted the former in the May, 2013 Assembly Elections to gain power in the state after a gap of eight years.

BJP is betting big on the Karnataka results evidenced by the repeated election tours taken up by its Prime Ministerial candidate Modi while AICC President Sonia Gandhi and her heir apparent Rahul Gandhi have been at the helm to woo the voters which blessed the party with power in the state last year.

(Posted on 15-04-2014)