Twice caught off a no-ball, Williamson finally gets out
India would have dismissed New Zealand for less than 192 on day one of the second Test here Friday had their top-scorer Kane Williamson not been caught twice off a no-ball.
Williamson, who scored a hundred in the first Test to go with five consecutive fifties in the preceding one-day series, had the luck on his side before he finally fell at 47 in 43rd over of the innings lasting 52.5 overs.
Drama occurred on the last ball before lunch with Zaheer Khan getting Williamson caught behind off what turned out to be a no-ball. New Zealand went into the break four down for 51 and not five down.
Williamson got another life shortly after the break. He was caught at short leg off Ishant but the umpire confirmed that it happened off a no-ball.
Mohammed Shami finally got rid of him with a full delivery that moved away just enough to induced an edge and carry safely into the slips, leaving the Black Caps at 133 for 7.
Interestingly, another Kiwi, Craig Cumming, got out thrice off a no-ball in a 2006 Test match against Sri Lanka at Christchurch.
(Posted on 14-02-2014)