Saturday, February 13 2016

Home > News > More News

Gas deal: Kejriwal targets Moily, Ambani

Posted on Feb 11 2014 | IBNS

New Delhi, Feb 11 : Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal on Tuesday said he has ordered to register First Information Reports (FIR)s against Union Petroleum minister M Veerappa Moily, former petroleum minister Murli Deora and Reliance Industries Limited (RIL) Chairman Mukesh Ambani for conspiring to inflate the prices of gas in the capital.

Addressing a press conference here, Kejriwal said that the gas cartel led to the price rise and it should be investigated thoroughly.

He claimed that he has received complaint against RIL making windfall gains from the KG Basin deal.

"There is a complaint from 4 senior persons in my government against Reliance. They have complained that Reliance Industries was given gas wells a year ago. It cost less than one dollar, they were given for 17 years at 2.3 dollars, but after that they gave it for 4 dollars. They created an artificial shortage and gave just 18 percent gas. They have alleged that from coming April, they'll double the rate and give it for USD 8 per unit," Kejriwal said.

Attacking the ruling Congress and opposition parties, he alleged, "Gas lobby has bribed both the Congress and the opposition parties. Why are they keeping quiet?"

He said that if the gas price is hiked from Apr 1, the people will suffer and RIL will be benefitted by 54,000 crore per annum.

He said that the Anti-Corruption Bureau (ACB) will file FIRs against Veerappa Moily, Mukesh Ambani, Murli Deora and others.

"The ACB is in the process of filing FIRs against Murli Deora, Veerappa Moily, VK Sibal (former Director General of Hyderocarbons), Mukesh Ambani, Reliance Industries and others," he said.

Kejriwal also said that he will write to Prime Minister Manmohan Singh to probe into the case and will ask him to take back gas wells from RIL.

"I will write letters to the Prime Minister and Veerappa Moily to look into the matter. The central government should take back gas wells from RIL," he said.

Latest News: