Ranji trophy: 22 wickets fall in a day in Kerala-HP tie

New Delhi, Dec 7 : It was an intriguing day of cricket in Ranji Trophy, as 22 wickets fell Saturday on the second day of the sixth round Group C match between Himachal Pradesh and Kerala in Kannur.

At the Conor Vayal Stadium in Kannur, Himachal Pradesh need 86 runs and have three wickets in hand while chasing 196 runs against Kerala.

Earlier, after being bowled out for 174 in the first innings, Rishi Dhawan-led Himachal Pradesh skittled Kerala out for 155 in the second innings. Bipul Sharma (4/32) led the charge with a four-wicket haul.

The Kerala bowlers than ran through the Himachal Pradesh line-up to leave them on 110 for seven at stumps. V. Manoharan picked four wickets, while C.P. Shahid claimed three.

In a Group A match in Sambalpur, Odisha were trailing Delhi by 321 runs in the first innings and had seven wickets in hand at stumps. Opener Natraj Behera was batting on 53 with captain Biplab Samamtray on 27 at stumps.

Earlier, veteran all-rounder Rajat Bhatia struck a massive unbeaten 158 to take Delhi to 442 in the first innings. Bhatia got good support from Sumit Narwal and Ashish Nehra, who contributed 40 each.

At Bansi Lal Cricket Stadium in Rohtak, Karnataka suffered a dramatic batting collapse but managed a marginal six-run lead and had one wicket in hand at stumps against Haryana, who were all out for 247.

Resuming the day at 18/0, Karnataka were cruising at 96 for no loss but then lost 10 wickets for 140 runs. Opening batsmen Mayank Agarwal (42) and Lokesh Rahul (98) gave a solid opening stand of 96 runs. C.M. Gautam also scored a valuable 54.

Haryana's Harshal Patel finished the day with a five-wicket haul, while Ashish Hooda and Sachin Rana picked two wickets each.

Group A

Mumbai 210 for 5 (Tare 69) v Jharkhand 351 (Tiwary 238, Javed 4-79, Dabholkar 4-81)
Vidarbha 332 for 7 (Jangid 104, Fazal 99) v Punjab 184 (Mandeep 56, Wagh 3-34)
Odisha 121 for 3 v Delhi 442 (Bhatia 158*, Manhas 92, Gambhir 32, Sehwag 0)
Karnataka 253 for 9 (Rahul 98, Gautam 54, Harshal 5-46) v Haryana 247 (Saini 109, Binny 3-43)

Group B
Tamil Nadu 101 for 3 v Baroda 162 (Mistry 68) Rain stops play
Bengal 68 for 1 v Railways 306 (Arindam Ghosh 88)
Services 164 (RP Singh 3-38, Chawla 3-62) and 19 for 0 v Uttar Pradesh 369 (Dwivedi 131, Rawat 78)
Madhya Pradesh 115 (Pankaj 5-30, Rituraj 3-33) and 121 for 2 v Rajasthan 282 (Bist 84 not out, Ishwar Pandey 4-92)

Group C
Tripura 587 for 6 (Takawale 208, Mora Singh 149, Abbas Ali 105 not out) v Hyderabad
Jammu & Kashmir 85 (Fallah 4-32, Mundhe 3-21) and 131 for 1 v Maharashtra 401 for 9 dec (Khadiwale 87, Motwani 84, Gujree 5-87, Beig 4-126)
Goa 190 for 2 (Desai 97) v Assam 247 (Syed Mohammed 101 not out)
Himachal 174 (Bipul 53, Prashanth 7-54) and 110 for 7 (Rishi Dhawan 33 not out) v Kerala 214 (Jagadeesh 56, Vinoop 71, Dhawan 2-59) and 155

--IANS (Posted on 07-12-2013)

cricket-news headlines

BCCI names Ravi Shastri in three-member probe panel

Kings XI Punjab elect to bowl against Rajasthan Royals

Duminy takes Daredevils home against KKR

Smith all praises for Gerrard's 'loyalty, pride, passion' following Liverpool visit

Eoin Morgan credits IPL 'pressure' for helping 'long-term' cricket career

IPL: RCB beat Mumbai Indians by 7 wickets

'Mentor' Akram hails 'special' KKR ahead of IPL clash against Delhi Daredevils

PCB hunting for new Pak coach after ending Moin Khan's two-month reign

Knight Riders post 166/5 against Daredevils

Knight Riders elect to bat against Daredevils

Bangalore hand Mumbai Indians their second loss

Mumbai Indians stutter to 115/9

Quick Links: Goa | Munnar | Pondicherry | Free Yearly Horoscope '2014


Your e-mail:

Your Full Name:

Type verification image:
verification image, type it in the box


Back to Top