Bangalore, Oct 18 IANS | 2 years ago

Former Indian captain Anil Kumble and pacer Javagal Srinath will not contest in the ensuing elections for the posts of president and secretary of the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) for which they were elected in 2010.

Elections to various managing committee posts of the association are due in November at its next annual general body meeting.

"We are not seeking re-election as we think a new team with fresh ideas will be good for the state cricket," Kumble and Srinath told reporters here at a function.

The ace leggie, Srinath and former medium pacer Venkatesh Prasad were elected as president, secretary and vice-president in the election held Nov 21, 2010 for a three-year term.

Denying that they were not seeking re-election due to criticism from some sections of the association, Kumble said after retiring from first class cricket, they contested for the posts only to promote the game across the state by providing better infrastructure and encouragement to the younger generation to excel.

"We are not new to criticism, which is a part of life and more so in a game like cricket that is followed by millions religiously," the 43-year-old Kumble said.

Both the duo, however, asserted that as life members of the association, they would continue to be involved for the betterment of the game and contribute to its promotion as in the past.

"As we are associated with cricket lifelong, we are not shirking away from responsibilities and rather will be available to contribute our mite to the game even without holding official posts," Kumble said.

Echoing Kumble, Srinath said they decided not to seek another term as their intention was not to hold on to posts but be engaged with the game.

"After playing for the country so long, we held the posts only for the cause of cricket. We did our best to improve the game. We are optimistic that the next committee will take the game forward," he said.

The nearly 80-year-old association has about 2,000 members with 25 of them holding various posts on its committee, including two nominated.

(Posted on 19-10-2013)