ICC Cricket Committee to meet in London

Dubai, May 6 : The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday announced that the annual ICC Cricket Committee meeting will take place in London on.May 28 and May 29.

The committee will be chaired for the first time by former India captain Anil Kumble, who has succeeded ex-West Indies captain Clive Lloyd.

Former England captain Andrew Strauss and ex-India leg-spinner Laxman Sivaramakrishnan will also attend their first ICC Cricket Committee meeting.

Strauss is one of the two Past Player representatives (replacing Ian Bishop), while Sivaramakrishnan is one of the two Current Player representatives (replacing Tim May).

The other Current Player representative is former Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara, who has been on the committee since 2007.

Sangakkara and Sivaramakrishnan were recently elected by a vote of the 10 Test captains, and will serve on the Cricket Committee for a three-year term from 2013-15.

The Cricket Committee's remit is to discuss cricket-playing matters and to make recommendations to the ICC Chief Executives' Committee and the ICC Board that will meet at Lord's during the ICC's annual conference week, from Jun 25 to Jun 29.

The ICC Cricket Committee comprises:

Chairman - Anil Kumble (former India captain)

Ex-Officio (two) - Alan Isaac (ICC President) and David Richardson (ICC Chief Executive)

Past Player representatives (two) - Mark Taylor (former Australia captain) and Andrew Strauss (former England captain)

Current Player representatives (two) - Kumar Sangakkara (ex-Sri Lanka captain and current player) and Laxman Sivaramakrishnan (ex-India leg-spinner)

Full Member team coach representative (one) - Gary Kirsten (South Africa coach)

Women's Cricket representative (one) - Clare Connor (former England women's team captain)

Member Board representative (one) - David White (NZC Chief Executive)

Associate representative (one) - Trent Johnston (Former Ireland captain and current player)

Media representative (one) - Ravi Shastri (former India captain and a respected commentator)

Umpires' representative (one) - Steve Davis (member of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires)

Referees' representative (one) - Ranjan Madugalle (ICC chief match referee and former Sri Lanka captain)

MCC representative (one) - John Stephenson (MCC's Head of Cricket)

Statistician representative (one) - David Kendix (statistician/scorer)

--IBNS (Posted on 06-05-2013)

cricket-news headlines

Smith all praises for Gerrard's 'loyalty, pride, passion' following Liverpool visit

Eoin Morgan credits IPL 'pressure' for helping 'long-term' cricket career

IPL: RCB beat Mumbai Indians by 7 wickets

'Mentor' Akram hails 'special' KKR ahead of IPL clash against Delhi Daredevils

PCB hunting for new Pak coach after ending Moin Khan's two-month reign

Knight Riders post 166/5 against Daredevils

Knight Riders elect to bat against Daredevils

Bangalore hand Mumbai Indians their second loss

Mumbai Indians stutter to 115/9

Many think Shashank Manohar can restore cricket board's credibility

Royal Challengers elect to bowl against Mumbai Indians

IPL: RR beat Sunrisers Hyderabad

Quick Links: Goa | Munnar | Pondicherry | Free Yearly Horoscope '2014


Your e-mail:

Your Full Name:

Type verification image:
verification image, type it in the box


Back to Top