Home > News > Punjab News

Punjab beat Hyderabad by an innings and 68 runs

Posted on Nov 05, 07:43PM | UNI

Punjab registered an innings and 68 runs triumph against Hyderbad in their four-day Group A Ranji Trophy match at the Punjab Cricket Association Stadium here today. With this outright victory, Punjab earned seven points, including a bouns.

Forced to follow on, Hyderabad were bundled out for 239 in 80 overs.

Akshath continued to display good form as he slamed 59 with the help of eight fours. Hyderabad were precariously placed at 40 for 3 before Akshath Reddy and captain VVS Lakman (67, 10x4s) helped their team a brief recovery as they were associated in a 108-run partnership for the fourth wicket.

After the departure of Reddy at 148 for 4 in 45.1 overs, Hyderabad's second innings folded at 239 in 80 overs. Right arm medium fast bowler Siddharth Kaul bowled a fiery spell and claimed five wickets.

He bowled 18 overs, four of which were maiden and conceded only 53 runs.Captain Harbhajan Singh, who remained wicketless in the first innings, captured three wickets for 30 runs.

Earlier, Punjab declared their first innings at the overnight total of 566 for 6 and forced the follow-on on Hyderabad who trailed by 307 runs in their first innings.

Brief scores: Hyderabad (Ist innings) 258 all out in 96.3 overs Akshath Reddy 63, Ravi Teja 36, Hanuma Vihari 28, VVS Laxman 23, Arjun Yadav 34, Ibhrahim Khaleel 41, Mohd Khader not out 11, Manpreet Grewal 4 for 60, Amitoze Singh 3 for 33, Sandeep Singh 3 for 45).

Punjab (Ist innings): 565 for 6 in 150 overs declared (Jiwanjot Singh Chouhan batting 213, 33x4s, 368 balls, 496 minutes, Karan Goel 129, 16x4s, 2x6s, Mandeep Singh 33, Gurkeerat Singh 18, Uday Kaul not out 54, 5x4s, Amitoze Singh 29, Harbhjan Singh not out 48, 5x4s, 2x6s, Kaneshkk Naidu 2 for 85, Pragyan Ojha 2 for 201, Hanuma Vihari 1 for 19, Ahmed Quadri 1 for 46).

Hyderabad (2nd innings): 239 all out in 80 overs (Akshath Reddy 59, Ravi Teja 16, VVS Laxman 67, 10x4s, Ahmed Qadri 45, Pragyan Ojha 22, Siddhart Kaul 5 for 33, Harbhajan Singh 3 for 30, Manpreet Grewal 1 for 44, Sandeep Sharma 1 for 53).