Home > News > Orissa News

Seven IPP in Odisha to generate 1800 MW of power by 2014

Posted on Nov 02, 09:07PM | UNI

At least seven of the total 29 Independent Power Projects are expected to start production by March 2014, official sources here said.

As many as 29 IPPs had signed agreements with the state goernment to produce 37,440 MW of power.

Sources said out of the 29 IPPs while Sterlite Energy had already been commissioned, seven more IPPs would start production by March 2014.

A meeting held under the Chairmanship of Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik to review the progress of the IPPs revealed that seven IPPs--GMR Kamalang Energy Ltd, Jindal Thermal Power Ltd, K V K Nilachal Power Power(P) limited, Lanco Babandh Power Ltd, Monnet Power Company Ltd, Ind Barath Energy (Utkal)Ltd and Maadurga Thermal Power Company Ltd would together generate 1800 MW of power by March 2014.

With the commissioning of these seven IPPs, the state could meet the power crisis experienced during the summer. In summer the state experiences a shortfall of 800 to 900 MWs of power.