Home > News > Agriculture News

2nd ASEAN-India Ministerial meeting from Oct 17

Posted on Oct 16, 10:42PM | UNI

The Department of Agricultural Research and Education (DARE)/Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) and Confederation of Indian Industry will host the second ASEAN-India Ministerial Meeting on Agriculture and Forestry from October 17-19 here.

ASEAN is a group of ten nations -- Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. ASEAN was established on August 8, 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand.

ASEAN-India working group on Agriculture aims to facilitate promotion of joint research for development of technologies for increasing production and productivity in agricultural and allied systems, efficient management of natural resources, development of joint ventures, exchange of technologies, expertise and material in the region.

The second ASEAN-India Ministerial Meeting on Agriculture and Forestry will focus on latent potential of ASEAN countries. Apart from presentations of eminent speakers from corporate, academicia, Government, research organisations and NGOs, there will informative sessions to initiate the process of transformation in agriculture.

The participants will also discuss about networking opportunities with suppliers and producers from around the world, innovations in equipment, precision farming, agricultural inputs and services for profit maximisation.

ASEAN-India Agriculture Expo will be another attraction of the meeting, an official release said here today.

The research and development in the field of agriculture will be displayed by its member countries.

The plan of action to implement the ASEAN-India partnership for peace, progress and shared prosperity (2010-2015) was adopted at the eighth ASEAN-India Summit held on October 30, 2010 in Hanoi, which was also attended by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.