Home > News > More News

43rd International Film Festival to commence tomorrow in Goa

Posted on Nov 19, 10:12PM | UNI

The stage is all set for the commencement of 11-day 43rd International Film Festival of India (IFFI), to be inaugurated by Bollywood star Akashay Kumar, who will be the chief guest for the opening ceremony in Goa tomorrow, along with Union Minister for Information and Broadcasting Manish Tiwari, Minister of Culture of Poland and Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar.

Addressing a joint news conference here today, Festival director Shankar Mohan and Entertainment Society of Goa chief executive Manoj Shrivastav said that the opening ceremony will be held at Kala Academy so that nearly 3,000 delegates can be accommodated to witness the opening ceremony at 1600 hours tomorrow afternoon, which will be followed by opening film 'Life of Pi' directed by Oscar award winner Ang Lee.

There will also be screening of Mira Nair's 'The Reluctant Fundamentalist' as the closing movie of the festival.

The extravaganza will include sections like Indian Panorama which includes Feature and Non-Feature cinema selections, Indian Retrospectives, Homage, their Firsts, Masterclasses, Student Films and more.

There will also be special segments such as Festival Kaleidoscope, Cinema of the World, Foreign Retrospectives, Homage, Country Focus, Sketches on Screen (Animation and 3D cinema), Masterstrokes, Documentaries which form a part of International Screening section.

The Festival involves a total screening of morethan 200 movies over the ten-day duration. The Festival will also celebrate the hundred years of Indian cinema with a special section 'Centenary Celebrations', whereunder best selected movies from Indian Cinema's glorious hundred years will be screened, they said.

Moreover, as a part of the celebrations, the 'Centenary Film Award' will be bestowed to a competition film selected by a special jury,which deftly showcases the glory of cinema as a medium and also reflects a new paradigm in motion pictures in terms of aesthetics,technique or technological innovation. The award will comprise a Silver Peacock, certificate and a cash prize of Rs 10 lakh.

The recipients of the award will be announced on the closing ceremony on November 30, which will be attended by the luminaries from the creative fields including Mira Nair, Kim Ki-duk, Ashok Amritraj, Tabu, Kailash Kher and Saroj Khan, among others.

One of the key highlights of this year's IFFI will be honouring of the eminent Polish film director, Mr Krzystof Zanussi, with the Life Time Achievement Award, they said.