New Delhi, Feb.6 ANI | 9 months ago

Telugu Desam Party (TDP) leaders protested against the formation of Telangana in the Parliament here on Thursday.

TDP members disrupted the Parliament session with their protest and gave notices for a no-confidence motion against the Hyderabad Government.

TDP leader, Y. S. Chowdary accused the Congress of ruining the nation's power.
"We won't let Rajya Sabha function at any cost. Congress's time is over. It is time for them to go home. They have ruined this country. In the last 10 years of their rule they have reduced India from a superpower to a zero power," he said.

However, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kamal Nath said the Telangana Bill cannot be put to rest.

"This is an issue which has generated strong emotions and reactions from both sides. This matter, to be voted upon if it has to be put to rest. You cannot wish it away, and you cannot push it on the table. This has to be acted upon in the parliament," he said.

Meanwhile, TDP Chief Nara Chandrababu Naidu met Tamil Nadu CM Jayalalithaa to inform her about the controversial row.

He accused Congress of seeking its vested interests in the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh.

"I wanted to explain to her what is happening in this country today. The Congress for political gain is playing dirty politics in the country, in bifurcation," said Naidu.

Describing Telangana issue as 'vital', Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh on Tuesday said the government will be presenting a bill relating to the creation of the state of Telangana in Parliament.

The Andhra Pradesh Assembly had earlier rejected the draft Bill to create a separate Telangana state.

On December 5, last year, the Cabinet cleared the Parliamentary bill for bifurcating the Andhra Pradesh to create a separate Telangana state, with 10 districts. In July last year, the ruling Congress party approved the creation of a new Telangana state, which had raised fears of violence in the area.

The proposal was received with mixed emotions across the state, with various politicians starkly opposing the bifurcation.

(Posted on 07-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |