New Delhi, Feb 5 ANI | 2 years ago

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Kiran Kumar Reddy and his ministerial colleagues from the Seemandhra region began a sit down protest at Jantar Mantar today to oppose the creation of a new state of Telangana.

Earlier in the day, scores of pro and anti-Telangana protesters broke into a scuffle outside Andhra Bhawan over the Telangana Bill, which is expected to be tabled in the current session of the Parliament.

Supporters from both sides of the divide were holding the protests outside the Andhra Bhawan when the scuffle began.

The Centre is determined to introduce the bill in Parliament.

Describing Telangana issue as 'vital', Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh on Tuesday said the government will be presenting a bill relating to the creation of the state of Telangana in Parliament.

"There is the vital issue of Telangana and we will be bringing a bill before the parliament for its approval. I sincerely hope that after a long debate extending over many years, the house in its wisdom will be able to pass the bill relating to creation of state of Telangana," he said.

"This is going to be the last session of the 15th Lok Sabha. There are important legislations pending for approval by the parliament. There are several important legislations relating to the anti corruption measures," Dr. Singh added.

The Andhra Pradesh Assembly had earlier rejected the draft Bill to create a separate Telangana state.

On December 5, last year, the Cabinet cleared the Parliamentary bill for bifurcating the Andhra Pradesh to create a separate Telangana state, with 10 districts. In July last year, the ruling Congress party approved the creation of a new Telangana state, which had raised fears of violence in the area.

The proposal was received with mixed emotions across the state, with various politicians starkly opposing the bifurcation.

(Posted on 06-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Free Yearly Horoscope: Select your zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries