Tuesday, February 09 2016

Home > News > India News

Hope to see Telangana Bill passed: PM

Posted on Feb 04 2014 | IBNS

New Delhi, Feb 4 : Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on Tuesday said that he hoped that the Telangana Bill will be passed by the Parliament.

"There is the vital issue of Telangana. We will be bringing a Bill in Parliament for its approval and I sincerely hope that after a long debate extending over many years, the House will, in its wisdom, be able to transact the business and pass the Bill relating to the creation of the state of Telangana," Singh told reporters after the All-Party Meeting called by Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar.

The Parliament session will start from Wednesday. This will be the last session of the Fifteenth Lok Sabha.

"This is going to be the last session of the Fifteenth Lok Sabha. There is important legislation which is pending for approval by Parliament. There is important legislation relating to anti-corruption measures. There is important legislation with regard to Women's Reservation Bill. There is important business concerning the control of communal violence. I sincerely hope that Parliament, in its wisdom, will transact the essential business which is the primary concern of any legislature in a Parliamentary democracy," Singh said.

The Andhra Pradesh Assembly on Jan 30 rejected the Telangana Bill before being adjourned sine die.

The Bill that proposes the formation of Telangana was sent by President Pranab Mukherjee to the Andhra Pradesh assembly for review earlier this month.

The new state of Telangana is expected to have 10 districts, a population of 35.38 million and an area of 1.14 lakh square km and including Andhra Pradesh capital Hyderabad, which will serve as a common capital for 10 years.

The GoM (Group of Ministers) earlier had submitted its draft on bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh and creation of Telangana as the 29th state of India.

India's ruling Congress party in July 2013 approved a move to carve out the Telangana region of Andhra Pradesh, giving in to a five-decade-long demand from supporters in a major decision ahead of 2014 elections.

Officially urging the government to take constitutional steps that will see the state's formation, the Congress Working Committee (CWC) passed a resolution on the same.

The Telangana region, which merged with Andhra Pradesh in 1956 against the wishes of many local residents, comprises 10 districts - Adilabad, Hyderabad, Khammam, Karimnagar, Mahbubnagar, Medak, Nalgonda, Nizamabad, Rangareddy, and Warangal.

Latest News: