Bangalore, May 24 IANS | 5 months ago

Chennai Super Kings returned to winning ways with a convincing seven-wicket win over Royal Challengers Bangalore in their Indian Premier League (IPL) match at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium here Saturday.

Coming into the match, Super Kings were on a three-match losing streak and in danger of relinquishing their second spot to Kolkata Knight Riders, who play later in the day.

However, an unbeaten 75-run partnership between captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni (49 not out) and Faf du Plessis (54 not out) helped Super Kings overhaul Royal Challengers score of 154 for six with more than two overs to spare.

Chennai scored 160 for two in 17.4 overs and the win took them to 18 points, two behind league leaders Kings XI Punjab.

West Indies' Dwayne Smith started the carnage smashing 34 runs off just 17 balls. Smith and du Plessis shared a 57-run opening partnership off 26 balls to set Chennai on their way.

Suresh Raina (18) played well but was coaxed into playing an ambitious shot off the bowling of India teammate Yuvraj Singh.

Dhoni and du Plessis took over, and from then on it was a one-way traffic as Bangalore seemed short of ideas.

Dhoni smashed four boundaries and three sixes in his 28-ball stay while his South African partner was just as clinical plundering three fours and as many sixes.

Earlier, a captain's knock by Virat Kohli (73) helped Royal Challengers Bangalore reach a fighting score.

Put into bat, the Bangalore top order once again failed to fire putting the onus on the middle-order.

A 55-run partnership between Yuvraj Singh (25) and Kohli was one of the bright spots for the hosts.

Former India pacer Ashish Nehra picked up three wickets while Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohit Sharma and Ravindra Jadeja chipped in with a wicket apiece.

(Posted on 24-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |