Lucknow, May 20 UNI | 2 months ago

In a first step to punish the party leaders who were responsible for the Samajwadi Party's Lok Sabha debacle, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav today dismissed 36 advisers to the government who enjoyed Minister of state (MoS) status.

Mr Yadav cracked the whip today when he sacked 36 out of 80 politicians and others who were appointed as advisers in various government departments and given a rank of Minister of State (MoS).

Sources in the government confirmed about the decision and said an order has already been issued in this context.

The party is also contemplating to sack several other people who were posted as the chairperson and vice-chairperson of different Boards and Councils.

The party has sought resignation of all the in-charges of the Lok Sabha constituencies from where the party candidates lost the elections.

One Ali Akbar Khan, Lok Sabha in-charge of Shravasti Lok Sabha seat where the party candidate Atiq Ahmed was runnersup, has already put down his paper and several others to follow soon, party sources here said.

All sacked advisers were party leaders from different districts and were given minister of state status basically to award them after the Samajwadi Party came to power in 2012.

The sacked SP leaders from the post of advisers includes Jagdish Yadav, K C Pandey, Sachin Pati, Omveer Tomar, Narendra Bhati, Ranjana Bajpai, Kamaruddin, Ashu Mallick, Surabhi Shukla, SP women wing president Lilavati Kushawaha, Anuradha Chowdhury, Raja Chaturvedi, Kamlesh Pathak, K P Singh Chauhan, trader leader Surendra Mohan Agarwal and Sandeep Bansal, Anees Mansouri, Rakesh Yadav, student leader Ram Singh Rana, Haji Ikram, Waseem Ahmed, Vidyavaan Rajbhar, Mohammad Abbas, Iqbal Ali, Ribu Srivastava, Manoj Rai, Agra Mayor Anjala Mahaura , Satish Dixit, Sahib Singh Saini, Kuldeep Ujjawal, Ramababu , Virendra Singh, Vidyavati Rajbhar,Indu Prakash Mishra, Bahadur Singh, Virabhadra Upadhaya and Satendra Upadhyaya.

Now with the party facing an embarrassing defeat in the just-concluded Lok Sabha elections, these advisers have been removed from their posts.

The sources said some others too could come in the firing line of the government.

Party sources said that yesterday several loosing candidates had complained that these advisers and ministers did not cooperate with them leading to their defeat.

SP won just five Lok Sabha seats though had mustered 22.3 per cent of vote-share. The family members of party president Mulayam Singh Yadav were the winners in the elections. While Mulayam Singh Yadav himself won from both Mainpuri and Azamgarh, Dimple Yadav from Kannauj, Dharmendra Yadav from Badaun and Askhay Yadav from Ferozabad seats.

(Posted on 21-05-2014)