Chandigarh, May 18 UNI | 2 months ago

Bathinda MP Harsimrat Kaur Badal today said she had secured a historic mandate by defeating a four party united opposition led by Manpreet Badal.

In a statement here, Mrs Badal said the 2014 contest in Bathinda would go down in history as a unique contest when a SAD-BJP candidate defeated a joint candidate of a conglomeration of four parties including the Peoples Party of Punjab (PPP), Congress, CPI and the SAD- Longowal.

Ms Badal also took the opportunity to thank the people and express gratitude to them for the huge voter share polled by her. "I am grateful to the people for giving me the highest voter share of 43.7 per cent which is second only to the AAP Sangrur candidate," she said.

Reminding Mr Manpreet Badal not to try to hoodwink the people as was his habit, the MP said it was a fact that she (Kaur) had won a clear and decisive victory and even increased her vote share vis a vis the 2012 assembly elections.

She said in stark contrast her rival Manpreet Singh Badal lost 1.15 lakh votes despite stitching together a grand coalition and even succeeding in propping up a weak Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) candidate, she added.

Ms Badal said the PPP - Congress - CPI - SAD (Longowal) had together secured 6.10 lakh votes in the 2012 assembly elections. "Now the same combination led by Manpreet is left with just 4.94 lakh votes. I on the other hand have made up the short fall of more than one lakh votes and crossed over to take the lead," she said.

Tracing the steps taken by Manpreet Badal during the campaign, she said it was for the people to judge whether they were that of a prospective victor. "Manpreet first dumped his own party the PPP when he realised that he would lose his security deposit if he stood election on the kite symbol. He then switched to the hand symbol in desperation to bolster his chances and even pleaded with a fledgling party - AAP to prop up a weak candidate". She said and added that all this did not help much with Manpreet losing from the two Congress segments in the constituency.

(Posted on 18-05-2014)