Bangalore, May 17 UNI | 2 months ago

'Modi Wave', which gave BJP a sweeping victory in the Lok Sabha polls in the country, has also helped the party in Karnataka to secure 2.2 per cent more votes in the April 17 election to the 28 seats by winning 17 of them in the state.

In the 2013 Assembly election, the BJP was not only pushed to third place after being from the ruling party, but it also lost Opposition position to Janata Dal (Secular) for having secured less percentage of votes polled (19.9 per cent).

Besides the 'Modi Wave' former chief minister B S Yeddyurappa's return to his parent party after deserting it for almost one year, also contributed to the party bouncing back in the general election in the state.

The BJP had won 19 seats in the 2009 Lok Sabha election, but this time it had to remain contended with 17 seats though there wass 2.2 per cent increase in its vote per centage.

The ruling Congress which had won 6 seats in the last Parliament election, however, improved upon on it by winning nine seats. the JD (S), which had won only 3 seats in the 2009 LS election, lost one seat and could muster only two this time.

According to Election Office sources, the Congress has secured 40.8 per cent of the votes polled as against BJP's 43 per cent, up from 41.63% in the 2009 Lok Sabha polls.

JD-S led by former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda secured 11 per cent votes polled as against 13.57 per cent got in the last Lok Sabha polls.

Aam Aadmi Party which had fielded its candidates in 8 LS constituencies including former Infosys CFO V Balakrishnan, failed misera bly as it could get only 0.8 per cent votes.

Independents secured 1.6 per cent vote share, a drop from 4.12 per cent in the 2009 LS polls.

(Posted on 17-05-2014)