Lucknow, May 17 IANS | 5 months ago

BJP president Rajnath Singh broke the record of victory margin held by former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee as he was declared victorious from the Lucknow Lok Sabha constituency.

Rajnath Singh trounced Congress candidate Rita Bahuguna Joshi by a margin of 2.72 lakh votes Friday night, which is the highest in the electoral history of the city. Vajpayee, who represented Lucknow when he became the prime minister, won the seat by a margin of 2.16 lakh votes in 1998.

His victory margins in three other polls he contested from Lucknow were 1.17 lakh votes in 1991, 1.18 lakh in 1996 and 1.23 lakh in 1999.

Rajnath Singh got 5.61 lakh votes over Joshi's 2.88 lakh, thus setting a new record of victory margin for the Lucknow seat. In 2009, close aide of Vajpayee and former Uttar Pradesh minister Lalji Tandon won the Lucknow seat by a margin of only 41,000 votes. Joshi polled 2.04 lakh votes in 2009.

This makes the Friday victory seven times higher than the previous count for the BJP. A total of 10.31 lakh votes were polled in the April 30 balloting in the state capital.

TV actor and Aam Aadmi Party candidate Javed Jaffery got a meagre 41,000 votes while the BSP's Nakul Dubey got 64,449 votes. Samajwadi Party's Abhishek Mishra, a minister in the Akhilesh Yadav government polled 56,771 votes.

All the 14 contestants barring Joshi forfeited their deposits in the saffron show at the hustings. The certificate of victory was handed over to the party leaders Saturday by the district magistrate.

Rajnath Singh reached the city Friday night to thank the voters and party leaders.

(Posted on 17-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |