Lucknow, May 14 UNI | 2 months ago

The demand of separate statehood status to western Uttar Pradesh, which was a prime issue for many political parties in the last polls, was the most ignored in this Lok Sabha elections.

Surprisingly, no political outfit, including the Rashtriya Lok Dal, the Congress, the Bharatiya Janata Party, the Samajwadi Party and the Bahujan Samaj Party cared to talk about or raise the issue of statehood for western UP.

Since past few years, demand for 'Harit Pradesh' after inclusion of 26 districts of west UP, was gaining ground.

A total of 27 parliamentary constituencies, including Saharanpur, Kairana, Muzaffarnagar, Baghpat, Ghaziabad, Gautam Budhanagar, Muzaffarnagar, Bijnore, Meerut, Bulandshahr (reserved), Nagina (reserved), Moradabad, Rampur, Sambhal, Firozabad, Etah and Mainpuri fall under these districts.

Former UP chief minister and BSP supremo Mayawati had welcomed Telangana and demanded division of UP into four separate states into Poorvanchal, Bundelkhand, Awadh and western UP.

Reiterating her demand for dividing Uttar Pradesh, Ms Mayawati had said the Centre should take a decision on it soon.

The BSP government had sent a proposal to divide UP into four smaller states -- Poorvanchal (Eastern UP), Harit Pradesh (Western UP), Bundelkhand and Awadh Pradesh (Central UP) for better governance.

She had also urged the MPs from UP to put pressure on the government to take a prompt decision on the state's division.

Ms Mayawati's government had in November 2011 got a resolution passed in the state Assembly to divide UP into four states. The Opposition had then called the passing of the resolution dictatorial.

However, no political party showed its inclination in this regard.

(Posted on 15-05-2014)