Sunday, February 14 2016

Home > News > More News

Polling on in Bihar

Posted on May 12 2014 | IANS

Patna, May 12 : Balloting in Bihar began Monday for six parliamentary seats in the last phase of India's general election, officials said.

The constituencies where voting is taking place are Valmiki Nagar, West Champaran, East Champaran, Vaishali, Gopalganj and Siwan.

Among the prominent candidates are former union ministers Raghuvansh Prasad Singh and Raghunath Jha, filmmaker Prakash Jha, Hena Sahab, wife of jailed former MP Mohammad Shahabuddin, and Anu Shukla, wife of jailed former legislator Munna Shukla.

In West Champaran, Prakash Jha is pitted against incumbent MP Sanjay Jaiswal of the Bharatiya Janata Party and Raghunath Jha of the Rashtriya Janata Dal.

In Siwan, Hena Sahab (RJD) is contesting against BJP's 2009 winner Om Prakash Yadav.

In Vaishali, RJD's Raghuvansh Prasad Singh is fighting it out against Lok Janshakti Party candidate Rama Singh. Raghuvansh Prasad Singh has won the seat five times in the past.

A total of 90 candidates are in the electoral fray.

Polling is taking place in 8,582 polling stations. Over nine million people are eligible to vote.

Latest News: