Lucknow, May 5 IBNS | 6 months ago

After Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader and Narendra Modi close aide Amit Shah sparked a fresh controversy calling Azamgarh in Uttar Pradesh a hub of terrorism, BSP leader Mayawati said Shah should be barred from entering the state.

"He should not be allowed by the Election Commission in the state [Poorvanchal area of UP] and strict action should be taken against him," said Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) chief Mayawati.

Hitting out at the BJP, Mayawati said the entire state of Gujarat is a base for terrorists.

She demanded banning of both Shah and Samajwadi Party (SP) leader Abu Azmi in the state. The latter had admitted knowing an Indian Mujahideen operative but denied any links with it.

She said BJP candidate from Azamgarh Ramakant Yadav, whom she had expelled from her party earlier, is a terror too since he spreads terror all over Azamgarh.

Earlier Shah targetting Mulayam Singh Yadav said: "What kind of a government are they running that they made Azamgarh a hub of terrorism?"

Shah said this on Sunday at a rally while canvassing for BJP candidate from the seat, Ramakant Yadav.

"There was a blast in Gujarat and we found following the leads that all of the perpetrators had come from Azambarg to trigger the explosion," said Shah.

He said the ruling government is trying to get released from jail those accused of terrorism, having turned a place of brave people into a base of terrorism.

Samajwadi Party supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav is contesting the polls from Azamgarh.

Soon after the remark, the SP reacted sharply and complained to the Election Commission (EC) to take note of the remarks and act against Shah.

(Posted on 05-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |