New Delhi, May 1 IANS | 6 months ago

The Delhi High Court was Thursday informed by the Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG) that it was unable to make any headway into the audit of three power discoms in the capital as they were "not cooperating".

The CAG told a division bench of Chief Justice G. Rohini and Justice R.S. Endlaw that the discoms were not providing documents to enable carrying out of their audit.

It said it had made 103 requisitions to Tata Power Delhi Distribution Ltd, BSES Rajdhani and BSES Yamuna.

However, they replied to only a few of the information sought, said counsel appearing for the national auditor.

The court asked the CAG to file a fresh application before it to seek redressal against the discoms on the ground that they were refusing to cooperate in the audit currently under way against them.

The court listed the matter for further hearing May 12.

The discoms had earlier alleged that the audit was ordered by the government with a "predetermined mind".

The three discoms which supply power to consumers in the capital alleged that the Delhi government's order was a political ploy.

They said the audit order by the government was passed with "malice in law", without giving the discoms an opportunity to be heard.

The Delhi government, however, had earlier argued that the government had 49 percent share in each of the three discoms.

Lt. Governor Najeeb Jung had Jan 1 directed the CAG to undertake the audit.

Then chief minister Arvind Kejriwal, soon after assuming office Dec 28, met CAG Shashi Kant Sharma and urged him to audit the three private firms. He alleged that the discoms were overcharging the consumers.

On Jan 7, the Delhi government ordered an audit of the discoms by the CAG since their inception in 2002. The discoms then filed writ petitions before the Delhi High Court challenging the government's order.

(Posted on 01-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |