Tiruchirapalli, Apr 30 UNI | 3 months ago

A lower court here today seta side the election of ruling AIADMK village panchayat Presidentas following some irregularities in the election took place in the year 2011.

Official sources said that P Murugasen (45) of Kumaravadi of ruling AIADMK and V Murugasen of Congress hailing from Valayapati village wee the main contestants for the post of the President of the Kumaravadi Village panchayat, under Vaiyampatti Pnachayat union in Tiruchirapalli district during the local body poll in 2011. While P Murugasen (45) of AIADMK hailing from Kumaravadi village polled 1917 votes and the Congress nominee V Murugasen polled 1862 votes as against the total votes of 5105.Finally P Murugasen declared winnr and he assumed the office of the President of Kumaravadi village panchayat.

Challenging this election, the loosing Congress candidate V Murugasen by saying that there were several irregularities, and filed an election pettition before the Second additional Distict sessions court here on December 2, 2011. In his petition V Murugasen submitted that there were 5105 voters in the village panchayat of which more than five voters were not alive and produced their death certificates.he further contended that the ruling AIADMK Candidate P Murugasen influenced the officials concerned to see that the polled the votes of death voters, besides committed several irregularities and sought a directiont o setaside his election as invalid.

The Judge A K A Raghman in his ruling said that the irregularity charges against P Murugasen was proved and setaside his election. The judge also dirctd the Government to hold re election for the post of President of the Kumaravadi village panchayat.

(Posted on 30-04-2014)