By B.Sanyasi Rao Visakhapatnam,Apr 29 ANI | 6 months ago

An interesting electoral battle is on the cards in Vizianagaram with a clash of royals in this Fort Town Constituency going to polls on May 7 in the penultimate round of the General Elections.

In the battle royale, Poosapaati Ashok Gajapathi Raju from the royal family of Vizianagaram is contesting on a Telugu Desam Party (TDP) ticket.

YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) is fielding Ravu Venkata Swetha Chalapathi Kumar Krishna Ranga Rao (R.V.S.K.K. Ranga Rao) alias Baby Nayana, the younger son of the former ruler of Bobbili. He had served as Bobbili Municipal Chairperson for a term from 2005.

Seeking to retain the seat is Congress candidate and sitting MP Botsa Jhansi Lakshmi, former PCC chief Botsa Satyanarayana's wife,who faces uncertainty in the aftermath of the bifurcation move of Andhra Pradesh. Botsa Jhansi had successfully contested for the Lok Sabha in the by-election to Bobbili parliamentary constituency in December 2006 and 2009. With large-scale exodus of Botsa Satyanarayana's loyalists to other parties,she faces a tough fight.But she exudes confidence saying her work in the constituency was her strength.

This Lok Sabha constituency comprises 7 Assembly segments, namely, Etcherla, Rajam (SC), Bobbili, Cheepurupalli, Gajapathinagaram, Nellimarla and Vizianagaram with 13,72,197 voters. The total population of the Vizianagaram District is 2,342,868 (2011 Census data).

This constituency came into existence in 2008, following the implementation of delimitation of parliamentary constituencies.

Primarly a rain-fed region,agriculture is one of the main occupations. In 2006, the government recognized the Vizianagaram district as one of the economically backward regions and it is being funded under the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme.

(Posted on 29-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |