Lucknow, Apr 29 ANI | 6 months ago

When the major political parties have ignored the family of the freedom fighters Swaraj Party of India have given ticket to the descendants of Tatiya Tope and Chandra Shekhar Azad to contest elections this time.

The move was taken to highlight the plight of the family members of the freedom fighters, said Anupam Mishra, SPI president today.

Girja Shankar Mishra alias Raju Mishra, a mason and labourer is the fourth generation descendant of the Chandra Shekhar Azad. Vinayak Rao Tope, the third generation descendant of Tatiya Tope organises religious pujas.

Rao Tope is SPI candidate from Kanpur while Raju Mishra is from Unnao. They are fielded with a hope that people will realise the sacrifice of their ancestors and vote for them," said Swaraj Party of India president.

Vinayak Tope will be fighting against Sri Prakash Jaiswal from Congress, Murli Manohar Joshi from BJP in Kanpur seat while in Unnao Lok Sabha seat Raju Mishra is locked in a battle standing against Annu Tandon of Congress, Sakshi Maharaj of BJP and Brijesh Pathak of BSP. Polling in both the seats would be held on April 30.

"They are in extremely poor financial conditions and that's why they've been fielded. The first was to highlight their condition of the descendants of the revolutionaries and the second was to change the contest pattern," he said.

Mishra said the party in the next 2017 Vidhan Sabha elections will field 40 such candidates who are descendants of the revolutionary parties whose condition is equally bad. The Lok Sabha Elections is the first step."

(Posted on 29-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |