Beijing, Apr 16 ANI | 6 months ago

China is set to establish its fifth research centre in the Antarctic.

A groundbreaking ceremony for the station is expected to take place during the next South Pole expedition planned for November.

Qu Tanzhou, director of the State Oceanic Administration's Chinese Arctic and Antarctic Administration, told China Daily at least three years will be needed to build the fifth Antarctic research station because of the short annual construction period and China's limited transportation capacity in Antarctica.

According to the report, besides tough weather conditions, Qu said that because the new station will be permanent, it requires the approval of other Antarctic consultative states before construction.

He added that the area of the new station, less than 5 square kilometers, will be located in Terra Nova Bay in the Ross Sea region, which can help scientists study the Southern Ocean in Antarctica.

The team of researchers has primarily targeted the area of Ross Sea Region that is fundamentally a leading arch to the continent.

To enhance the country's polar endeavor China has also plans to acquire its first fixed-wing aircraft.

(Posted on 16-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |