New Delhi/Bangalore/Jaipur, Apr 16 UNI | 3 months ago

Its D-Day tomorrow for Phase V general elections in 121 Lok Sabha seats spread over 12 states.

It includes the most number of the constituencies of all the nine phases.

Polling will also be held tomorrow for rest of the 77 seats in Odisha Assembly.

A thick security blanket is in place in the wake of recent Naxal violence.

Waters will be tested in 28 LS seats in Karnataka, Maharashtra (19), Rajasthan (20), Uttar Pradesh (11), Bihar (seven), Chhattisgarh (three), Jammu and Kashmir (one), Jharkhand (six), Madhya Pradesh (10), Manipur (one), Odisha (11) and Uttarakhand (four). It will be the second of the six-phase elections in Bihar. A report from Patna said 117 candidates are in the fray for the April 17 election.

Of them, 33 are independents, five women and three belong to minority communities.

Tinsel town actors, a noted doctor and Bollywood star Shatrughan Sinha (BJP) are in the contest from Patna Sahib.

The Congress, which is contesting the electoral battle in alliance with RJD in the state, has fielded Kunal Singh a popular actor of Bhojpuri films.

The seven seats slated for polling are Munger, Nalanda, Patna Saheb, Patliputra, Ara, Buxar and Jehanabad.

An electoral college of 1,22,35,882 features 56,45,767 women in 11,486 polling stations in Bihar.

Undeterred by sudden spurt in militant violence, campaigning in all the three constituencies in the Kashmir valley ended with political parties organising rallies and road shows daily.

However, majority of the separatist organisations launched election boycott campaign in the valley, alleging election or selection will not help to resolve the Kashmir issue.

The Valley also witnessed some stone pelting incidents in which six AAP workers were injured when a mob pelted stones during the party rally at Bandipora in north Kashmir on March 9.

Campaigning for six Jharkhand Lok Sabha seats ended with adequate security arrangements where 106 candidates are in the fray in the second of the three-phase polls.

More than 83.75 lakh eligible voters can exercise their franchise across 10,136 polling stations.

Voting in these Lok Sabha areas would begin at 0700 hrs and continue till 1600 hrs.

(Posted on 16-04-2014)