Trivandrum, Apr. 10 ANI | 2 years ago

As third phase of the elections kicked off on Thursday prominent political leaders cast their votes to decide the fate of the people of the country.

Defence Minister A.K Antony said Congress had a fair chance of winning.

"Congress is the only choice. In 2004 also we had no majority, but we were able to form the government. In 2009 also, we had no single majority but we were able to form the government. This time also, we might not have single majority but as election trend continues, Congress chances are improving," said Antony in Trivandrum.

Meanwhile, Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar said Sasaram constituency in Bihar has always played an important role during election.

"There has been a tradition that people of Sasaram play an important role at federal level. So it is necessary for them to keep that tradition alive," said Kumar after casting her vote.

Meanwhile, BJP leader Nitin Gadkari said people were looking for a change and were fed up of economic crisis.

"This election will decide future of the country as the economic and security crisis are major issues concerning the country. I believe that people will vote for change this time," said Gadkari in Nagpur.

Earlier, the third phase voting for the Lok Sabha election started with as many as 1419 candidates contesting for 91 seats in 11 states.

Voting is underway in Chhattisgarh (1), Haryana (10), Jammu and Kashmir (1), Jharkhand (5), Kerala (20), Madhya Pradesh (9), Maharashtra (10), Odisha (10), Uttar Pradesh (10), Bihar (6), Delhi (7), Andaman and Nicobar Islands (1), Chandigarh (1) and Lakshadweep (1).

The polling started at 7 a.m. in the morning and will end at 6 p.m. in the evening. In Chhattisgarh's Bastar district, where polling is underway, voting will end at 3 p.m.

(Posted on 10-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Free Yearly Horoscope: Select your zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries