Thiruvananthapuram, March 17 IANS | 6 months ago

Those days when his mere entry into a police station would trigger a symphony of salutes are long gone. But 44-year-old Ajith Joy, a former Indian Police Service (IPS) and now an AAP candidate from Thiruvananthapuram, takes it in his stride.

Joy surprised many police officials busy working at the Museum police station in the heart of the capital Monday when he came in spotting the in-fashion AAP cap, instead of an official beret or pea cap.

"Yes, I came here to solicit votes as these police officials are also part of our society and have their votes. So I thought, I will come and meet them personally," said Joy to the waiting media.

A 1992 batch officer who worked in Kerala before moving to Bihar cadre, Joy is taking on the might of union minister Shashi Tharoor of the Congress and Bennet Abraham of the Communist Party of India.

The former IPS officer, who quit service last year, is now a practicing Supreme Court lawyer and hails from Thiruvananthapuram.

(Posted on 17-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |