Saturday, February 06 2016

Home > News > India News

President attends function to commemorate Diamond Jubilee Year of CRPF

Posted on Feb 28 2014 | IBNS

New Delhi, Feb 28 : Indian President Pranab Mukherjee attended a function to commemorate the Diamond Jubilee Year of Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) on Friday.

Union Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde released a theme song for the CRPF and presented the first copy to the President on the occasion.

Speaking at the event, the President congratulated the CRPF, which is an important central security agency, on its 75th year of service to this great nation.

He said that CRPF is an important pillar of our country's internal security apparatus.

"The diversity of its role and its unique adaptability to situational requirements, and its capacity to deliver operational dividends in difficult circumstances has distinguished itself as a very valuable organization," Mukherjee said.

The President said CRPF has secured and woven the internal security fabric by demonstrating its operational prowess along with a humane approach.

Mukherjee said: "This pan-India Force has taken pioneering steps towards modernization and enhanced combativeness. But more needs to be done. Ground level tactics have to be made more innovative by the adoption of state-of-the-art planning strategies. To give confidence to the troops, they have to be equipped with modern gadgetry and weaponry. To develop their morale further, the welfare issues have to be addressed promptly."

The President also complimented Javed Akhtar for his creative effort at capturing through his lyrics the sentiments of CRPF and, for gifting the theme song to inspire and arouse each Jawan and officer of CRPF.

He stated that this initiative would also instill a sense of identity and camaraderie amongst the CRPF personnel.

Latest News: