Wednesday, February 10 2016

Home > News > More News

Uttar Pradesh government bars use of red-beacons

Posted on Feb 22 2014 | IBNS

Lucknow, Feb 22 : Abiding by the Supreme Court order, the Akhilesh Yadav-led Uttar Pradesh government on Saturday said it has barred use of red beacons by non-constitutional authorities.

The state government said it has barred at least 100 ministers and bureaucrats from using 'lal battis'.

On Dec 10, 2013, the Supreme Court ruled that only constitutional authorities can use lal battis or red beacons atop their cars as VIPs.

The ruling means constitutional authorities like the President, Prime Minister, cabinet ministers, governors, the Chief Justice of India, Supreme Court judges and the heads of both houses of Parliament would be allowed to use the red beacons.

The court responding to a Public Interest Litigation (PIL) said the emergency vehicles like ambulance and police vehicles can use blue flashing lights.

The court had asked for a list from the central and state governments on the authorities who can use the lights.

The court also said that multi-tune horns be removed from all vehicles including heavy vehicles.

The court asked the governments to come up with laws on the use of lights.

Latest News: