Sunday, February 07 2016

Home > News > Andhra Pradesh News

Andhra Congress chief for last-ditch effort to stall division

Posted on Feb 17 2014 | IANS

Hyderabad, Feb 17 : Andhra Pradesh state Congress chief Botsa Satyanarayana Monday appealed to the chief minister and chiefs of the TDP and YSR Congress to accompany him to Delhi for making last-ditch effort to stall the state's division.

He wrote letters to Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) president N. Chandrababu Naidu, YSR Congress party chief Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy and Communist Party of India-Marxist state secretary B.V. Raghavulu, inviting them for a visit to the national capital.

Satyanarayana suggested that the delegation meet Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and leaders of national parties to urge them to keep the state united.

He told reporters after a meeting with some state ministers from Seemandhra that fast-paced developments were taking place in Delhi and that he learnt from central ministers that the Telangana bill would be passed during the ongoing parliament session.

On the reports that the chief minister is mulling to quit if the bill is taken up for debate in parliament, Satyanarayana said that his resignation would not serve any purpose at this stage. He remarked that resignation could have helped if it had come after the resolution by Congress Working Committee (CWC) to divide the state.

The state Congress chief, who is also a cabinet minister, held a meeting with some ministers, a day after the chief minister held consultations with ministers loyal to him.

Satyanarayana and other ministers, who have differences with the chief minister, had stayed away from Sunday's meeting.

Satyanarayana said the meeting called by him did not discuss the plans of the chief minister to quit and float a new political party on the plank of united Andhra.

"I want everybody from a worker to the chief minister to remain in the party," he remarked when asked to comment on the chief minister's plans.

Latest News: