New Delhi, Feb 14 IANS | 8 months ago

The Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Friday termed Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal's resignation a "drama."

Curtains came down on the Aam Aadmi Party's (AAP) government in Delhi Friday after the opposition did not allow tabling of the Jan Lokpal bill, a major poll promise, leading to an end of its 49 days of rule.

"As far as Kejriwal's resignation is concerned, it is a scripted drama," said state Congress chief Arvinder Singh Lovely. "Congress was always for Jan Lokpal."

"Kejriwal and his ministers were never serious about governance," added Congress leader Ajay Maken.

The BJP labelled the episode as "scripted" and said Kejriwal has "miserably failed".

"Kejriwal has not delivered anything and has miserably failed. He had no other choice (but to quit). He has only made tall claims," BJP leader Harsh Vardhan said. "I am prepared for an election even if it happens next week," he added.

Like the Congress, the BJP too said they were not opposed to the Jan Lokpal bill.

The Congress and the BJP have maintained the AAP government was not following constitutional procedures to get the bill passed in the assembly.

(Posted on 15-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |