Bhubaneswar/Kolkata, Feb.8 ANI | 9 months ago

Leaders of the Congress, Biju Janata Dal (BJD) and Trinamool Congress (TMC) from eastern states have won seats in the Rajya Sabha.

In Odisha, Congress leader Ranjib Biswal and three BJD legislators, including two state ministers won the elections.

"The election was held under the auspicious of honourable chief minister Naveen Patnaik and we are grateful to him and he gave us an opportunity to serve in Delhi and like we are serving here under him, we will be serving under him in Delhi. And, we will do what is necessary for the upliftment of the state of Odisha to get more finance and to get more projects that will be are aim," said a BJD leader, A.U. Singhdeo.

In West Bengal, polls were conducted where legislators gathered and waited in queue to cast their votes.

Amid accusations of cross voting, all four candidates of the TMC won their Rajya Sabha seats.

The president of the West Bengal unit of the Congress Party, Pradip Bhattacharya, dismissed reports of poaching, and said every member had the right to cast their votes.

"I don't know what the Communist Party (Marxist) is saying, but our members will go ahead and give their votes and other legislators too can cast their votes. I have no say in that, it's their right to give vote," said Bhattacharya

Elaborate arrangements were made by Election Commission for smooth process of biennial poll of the upper house in.

The elections were conducted in Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Odisha, and West Bengal.

(Posted on 08-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |