Shillong, Oct 18 IANS | 2 years ago

The Aizawl Thunders, one of India's first and oldest Bullet Club of bikers, will conduct an adventure ride Oct 21-26 during which participants will also head into Myanmar.

As hosts of the 5th edition of the North East Riders' Meet, the Aizwal Thunders will ride from Zotlang in Champhai, India's border district with Mynamar, to Tahan in the neighbouring country. More than 300 bikers are expected to turn up for the event.

"Astride a Bullet, the breeze flowing past one's face on one of the most beautiful but little known mountain paths of the world, could not be a better proposition for an adventurer," says Aizawl Thunders chief Lalrinchhana Tochhawng.

Popularly known as Rcho among his peers, Tochhawng said that the ride would start from Zotlang, cross over the Tiau River, known more famously as the Indo-Mynamar border trade outpost and on to their destination into Myanmar.

"It's a chance for many of us to see our neighbour and extend a hand of friendship," Tochhawng told IANS by phone from Aizwal, the state capital of Mizoram.

The Aizawl Thunders are leaving no stone unturned to make this meet memorable for their fellow-riders. They have almost completed their project to build a real life traditional Mizo village for the bikers in Zotlang, which is a scenic spot on the outskirts of Champhai.

Participants will be put up in the traditional bamboo huts with true Mizo cuisine and cultural atmosphere.

"We want to make it the most memorable of the meet and want to give our friends our best" said Rcho.

"We'll have cultural dances, music food and will cap it with a novelty ride to a foreign land," he said.

Aizawl Thunders are well known across the state for their rallies and charity rides in support of "Clean Mizoram", "Forest Fire Prevention", "Aids Awareness".

The oldest member of the club is 70-year-old James Lalhmingliana. The club also proudly claims to have a female member, Rosalyn Lianhmingthangi, a school teacher who is actively involved in the club.

(Posted on 18-10-2013)