TSD Rally: Nashik to host first round

Bangalore, Sep 12 : The much-delayed FMSCI Indian National TSD Rally Championship will commence later this month with the first round at Nashik, according to a FMSCI statement here Thursday.

While Nashik will host the first round Sep 28-29, the other four rounds will be held at Chikmagalur (Oct 19-20), Coimbatore (Nov 16-17), Bangalore (Dec 7-8) and Coimbatore (Dec 20-21).

The championship was launched last year with Mysore's Berunda Adventure Sports Club being the promoters and JK Tyre the title sponsors. The release made no mention of a title sponsor for the 2013 series.

The championship will be run under the Time-Speed-Distance format and is open to all-comers, the minimum requirements being a RTO registered vehicle that require no modification and a valid driving license.

Mahindra have already confirmed their support by supplying six cars for the season, said the release quoting FMSCI president Vicky Chandhok. The total distance of each round is set at a distance of minimum 175 Kms and maximum 200 Kms, the release added.

"Our first year of the TSD Rallying Championship was received very well and that is why we are keen to promote it again this year.

"The interesting thing about TSD is that it is the only form of motorsport where speed is not a priority but rather precision and is a great stepping stone for rally enthusiasts.

"We had good manufacturers support last year and we hope to get more of them involved this year as well," said Chandhok.

--IANS (Posted on 12-09-2013)

more-news headlines

Modi to file nomination from Varanasi Thursday

Kejriwal files nomination from Varanasi

Mukhtar Ansari to contest from Ghosi

Three CRPF women troopers die in accident

Poll code partly relaxed in some states

Varanasi: Kejriwal files nomination; confident to win

Limca Book of Records includes Ch Ranbir Singh for being member of 7 Assy houses

Amarinder should apologise to Sikh community: Harsimrat

'Pakistan' remark: Non-bailable warrant against Giriraj

Delhi mishap kills 3 CRPF women personnel

Arvind Kejriwal to file is nomination today

Arrest warrant issued against BJP leader Giriraj Singh

Quick Links: Goa | Munnar | Pondicherry | Free Yearly Horoscope '2014


Your e-mail:

Your Full Name:

Type verification image:
verification image, type it in the box


Back to Top