Keep Andhra Pradesh united: Kiran Reddy to Sonia

Hyderabad/New Delhi, Aug 6 : Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy has reportedly written to United Progressive Alliance (UPA) chairperson Sonia Gandhi requesting her not to bifurcate the state and create a separate Telangana state.

"I request you to rethink your decision. Please don't divide Andhra Pradesh. Keep the state united," Reddy said in his letter that was also signed by Andhra Pradesh Congress chief Botsa Satyanarayana and other top leaders from the coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema region.

As many as seven Congress MPs reportedly resigned from their posts on Friday protesting the creation of Telangana state.

According to reports, six Lok Sabha MPs and one Rajya Sabha member submitted their resignation letters on Friday afternoon in a major setback to the ruling Congress.

A Sai Prathap from Rajampet constituency), Anantha Venkatarami Reddy from Anantapur, C V Harsha Kumar from Amalapuram-SC, Vundavalli Arun Kumar from Rajahmundry, Lagadapati Rajagopal from Vijayawada and S P Y Reddy from Nandyal put down their papers to Lok Sabha Secretary General T K Vishwanathan.

Upper House MP KVP Ramachandra Rao submitted his resignation letter to Rajya Sabha Secretary General Shamsher K Sheriff.

Three more Lok Sabha MPs from Andhra Pradesh, namely Sabbam Hari from Anakapalli, Magunta Srinivasulu Reddy from Ongole and Rayapati Sambasiva Rao from Guntur, will also quit their posts in the coming days, said reports.

Four ministers, including Union Human Resource Development Minister Pallam Raju and Minister of State for Commerce Purandeswari, have also threatened to resign as a mark of their protest over the issue.

The Congress has 33 MPs from Andhra Pradesh.

As many as 19 of them are from the coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema regions to be included under Telangana state. They are opposed to the division of the state.

--IBNS (Posted on 06-08-2013)

andhra-pradesh-news headlines

YSR Congress candidate dies in road mishap

YSR Congress leader Shobha Nagi Reddy dead

Pawan Kalyan was under pressure: Jayaprakash Narayan

333 candidates for Lok Sabha polls in Seemandhra

Krishnaiah is TDP's CM candidate for Telangana

Pawan Kalyan to campaign for BJP, TDP in Andhra Pradesh

Modi vows to develop Telangana,Seemandhra

Un-implementable schemes announced by TDP, YSRCP: APCC

Summer special trains

Andhra Pradesh Guv seeks two months extension of Prez rule in state

BJP tsunami sweeping through India, says Modi

Chandrababu Naidu shares dais with Modi

Quick Links: Goa | Munnar | Pondicherry | Free Yearly Horoscope '2014


Your e-mail:

Your Full Name:

Type verification image:
verification image, type it in the box


Back to Top