Elections for 55 Rajya Sabha seats Feb 7

New Delhi, Jan 13 : Biennial elections for 55 Rajya Sabha seats, including seven from Maharashtra, will be held Feb 7, the Election Commission announced Monday.

As per the schedule, the results shall be announced the same day.

The elections will be held for the seats falling vacant between April 2-14 this year.

Besides Maharashtra, the elections will be held in Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh (six seats each), West Bengal and Bihar (five each), Odisha and Gujarat (four each), Assam, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan (three each).

The other states to see polling are Chhattisgarh, Haryana and Jharkhand (two seats each) and Himachal Pradesh, Meghalaya and Manipur (one seat each).

The polling notification will be issued Jan 21, nominations will be received till Jan 28 and scrutiny will be completed Jan. 29. The last date for withdrawal of nominations will be Jan 31.

The entire election process will be completed Feb 10, the poll panel said.

--IANS (Posted on 14-01-2014)

india-news headlines

Millions vote in sixth round of Indian election

Andaman's Jarawa tribals: A training centre holds out new hope

Technology adds new dimension to India's heritage tourism (April 18 is World Heritage Day)

14 percent polling in Jharkhand

R.K. Dhowan is new Indian Navy chief

Sonia slams BJP,Sangh parivar for promoting communal politics

Modi vows to do in 60 months what Cong. could not do in 60 years

Balloting begins in Kashmir's Udhampur

Uttar Pradesh votes

Women voters should not, and will not be ignored: Vinod Khanna

EVMs are tamper-proof, poll paneI reiterates

BJP not politically untouchable now: Modi

Quick Links: Goa | Munnar | Pondicherry | Free Yearly Horoscope '2014


Your e-mail:

Your Full Name:

Type verification image:
verification image, type it in the box


Back to Top