Gill, Das top in Uttarakhand Rally

Dehradun, Dec 25 : Jagmeet Gill and his navigator Chandan Das, winners of Raid De Himalaya TSD Category 2013, lifted the overall winner's trophy at the Uttarakhand Adventure Car Rally here.

The three-day rally saw a close fight among the TSD champions of the country. Gill, who was leading on day One, slipped to the fifth position overall on day two of the rally. On the third and concluding day, Gill made significant progress and proved why he ranks among the top TSD rallyists of the country.

Gill and Das were driving for Team Maruti.

Bangalore's husband-wife duo of Satish Gopalkrishnan and Savera D'Souza finished second overall at the rally and also second in the SUV category. The pair scaled up to the first position overall on day two, but they lost his position to Gill on the concluding day of the rally.

Ajgar Ali from Haldia with navigator M. Mustafa from Kerala were overall third in the rally. On day two, Ali was in fourth position overall, but improved his timings to rise to the third on the concluding day of the rally.

Gill and Das took home the first prize of Rs.5 lakh while Gopalkrishnan and D'Souza were richer by Rs.3 lakh and Ali and Mustafa received Rs.2 lakh.

The rally was organised by Uttarakhand Tourism to promote tourism in the State and make it the 'eco-adventure tourism destination' for skiing, white-water rafting, wildlife photography, and now also motorsport.

--IANS (Posted on 25-12-2013)

more-news headlines

54 percent vote in Bihar

FIR against Misha Bharti for poll violation

Ghaziabad lawyers' agitation turns violent

Air hostess case: Notice to Kanda on police plea to cancel bail

Haryana to frame policy on toll rates

Never extended favour to Himachal cricket body: Dhumal

SC clears way for land acquisition for Jamia

Light rain expected Friday

War-like store recovered in north Kashmir, ahead of polls on May 7

Supreme Court rejects plea to probe Indian army's role in Sri Lanka

Over 71 percent vote in Manipur

Uma Bharti slams Modi in video

Quick Links: Goa | Munnar | Pondicherry | Free Yearly Horoscope '2014


Your e-mail:

Your Full Name:

Type verification image:
verification image, type it in the box


Back to Top