Home > News > Agriculture News

Nagaland Joint Legislators' team meets Shinde, Pawar

Posted on Oct 16, 10:45PM | UNI

The 20-member Joint Legislators Forum (JLF) team led by Nagaland Legislative Assembly Speaker Kiyanielie Peseyie, including Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, met Union Home Minster Sushil Kumar Shinde, Union Agriculture Minister Sharad Pawar, JDU Chief and NDA convenor Sharad Yadav and NSCN (I-M) collective leadership at New Delhi yesterday to find out an early solution to the Naga issue.

According to official sources here today, the JLF had once again reiterated the demand on the Centre and NSCN (I-M) to expedite a solution at the earliest.

Mr Shinde assured the JLF delegation that the Centre would do its best to find an amicable solution before the 2013 polls.

Mr Shinde also told the JLF that he had held a meeting with the Chief Ministers of Manipur O Ibobi Singh and that of Arunachal Pradesh Nabam Tuki to explore ways to address the Naga issue in their respective states.

He said a timeframe was given to the two Chief Ministers to respond with their feedbacks.

The JLF team also met Mr Pawar, who also assured the JLF that he would discuss the issue with his colleagues 'to see that something is settled before the next Assembly elections.' In a meeting with Mr Yadav, the legislator said he has assured them that he would 'go all-out' in support of a solution to the issue.

At a meeting with NSCN (I-M) Chairman Isak Chishi Swu and General Secretary Th Muivah, the two told JLF members that they were trying their best to seek an early settlement.

They further told the JLF that if any solution or agreement is arrived at, it should be incorporated in the Constitution of India.

The JLF team would be meeting Leader Opposition in the Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj and other Central leaders today including Centre's interlocutor R S Pandey.

The 20-member JLF team led by Speaker Kiy includes the Chief Minister, CLP leader Tokheho Yepthomi, NPF President and Minister Dr Shurhozelie, NPCC President and MLA S I Jamir, Ministers Imkong L Imchen, T R Zeliang, M C Konyak, Dr Chumben Murry, Kuzholuzo Nienu, Kaito Aye, P Longon and MLAs Chingwang Konyak, I Imkong, H Chuba, Joshua Sumi, K V Pusa, Hewoto and MPs Khekiho Zhimomi and CM Chang.