Home > News > Maharashtra News

Govt to promote theatre: Minister

Posted on Jan 17, 09:40PM | UNI

Maharashtra Minister for Cultural Affairs Sanjay Devtale has urged the social organisations to help the state government in its efforts to protect, promote and preserve Marathi art, theatre and culture.

Speaking at the Sapatarangh two-day cultural festival, organised by the state government's cultural affairs ministry at the Dr Kashinath Ghanekar Theatre here last night, he said the state government has taken the issue of protecting the Marathi theatre and art as a serious one and has been taking various steps.

The social and cultural organisations should come forward and give it a helping hand and the state government is ready to give them financial assistance for the same, the minister said. He said the state government had increased the award sum in various cases in the recent past and was also trying to give opportunity to budding artists to showcase their art.

Besides the Kalaghoda festival, which lasts for seven days, the government have extended the same to Thane and Navi Mumbai. The festival is being held in Thane and Navi Mumbai for two days and is gaining popularity, he said.

He also pointed out at the recent Bhimsen Joshi award, which the state government had initiated, was one step towards that direction to recognise artists for their yomen contribution towards arts and culture.

The government will also ensure that the old art material and productions are preserved in the electronic form for permanent reference, he added.

Later, talking to newspersons, he said the state government has provided a sum of Rs five lakh for each district in the state with instructions to collectors to organise the programmes at local level and give maximum opportunity to the young and budding artists.

On the occasion, two senior stage artists of yesteryear Arvind Pilgaonkar was given the Annasaheb Kirloskar Sangeet Rangabhoomi Jeevan Gaurav Purskar and Atmaram Bende, the Natavarya Prabhakar Panshikar Rangabhoomi Jeevan Gaurav Puraskar for their lifetime contribution to Marathi theatre.

The awards comprised of Rs five lakh cash and a citation.