Home > News > Gujarat News

Narendra Modi to take oath as Gujarat CM today

Posted on Dec 26, 10:06AM | IBNS

Narendra Modi will take oath as Gujarat chief minister for the fourth time on Wednesday.

Tamil Nadu chief minister J Jayalalithaa, MNS chief Raj Thackeray and Akali Dal's Parkash will be present at the swearing-in ceremony. Top BJP leaders, including party chief Nitin Gadkari, will also be in attendance, said reports.

There will be no representatives of the JD(U) since Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar's dislike for Modi is well-known.

Modi's latest victory, which is seen as his step towards being BJP's prime ministerial candidate in the 2014 general elections, has been slammed by many.

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) chief Mayawati said she would do all she could to stop Modi from becoming Prime Minister.

Slamming Modi for strengthening "communal forces", she said the BSP would never support the BJP for making Modi the Prime Minister.